Return to Headlines

Nine Herricks High School Seniors Earn National Merit Finalist Recognition

Nine Herricks High School Seniors Earn National Merit Finalist Recognition

All nine Herricks High School seniors that were named National Merit Semifinalists in the fall have advanced to Finalist standing in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Jane Chung, Jay Chung, Abhinav Goyal, Preethi Krishnamoorthy, Samuel Leung, Samantha S. Moy, Kyle Pinzon, Rhea D. Rasquinha and David D. Zhang are among approximately 15,000 finalists across the nation.

Students achieved the Semifinalist distinction based on their Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test scores. They attained Finalist recognition by meeting high academic standards along with other requirements. Now, Finalists are eligible to earn scholarship awards that will be announced and presented in the spring.

Jane is a member of the Korean Cultural Club board as well as the National Honor Society and participates in National History Day. Jay is captain of the varsity lacrosse team and first chair for oboe in the wind ensemble, as well as a National Honor Society member. Abhinav participates in National History Day, band, wind ensemble and Student Government. Preethi is president of the Coding Club, materials manager for the Robotics Club and a Science Research Program participant. Samuel is on the varsity badminton, bowling and track teams and plays the oboe in the band. Samantha is a member of the National Honor Society and STEM Club, and participates in the Science Research Program. Kyle is salutatorian, student government executive board president, an All-State cellist and a science research student who studied COVID-19 remotely this past summer. Rhea is valedictorian, executive board vice president for student government and captain of the varsity cross country team, as well as a 2021 Regeneron Science Talent Search scholar. David had his research published in the Nitric Oxide international journal this past summer, is part of a group that placed sixth in the national level of National History Day two years ago and serves as captain of the varsity swim team.

National Merit Finalists