Return to Headlines

National Merit Semifinalists

Herricks School District is proud to congratulate eight seniors on being named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists.

The 2024 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists from Herricks High School are: Benjamin P. Hogan, Fatin A. Hoque, Connie Huang, Faaiz A. Jalil, Daniel Ng, Vera Peng, Arjun Sharma and Catalin J. Wong.

These students are joined by an elite group of approximately 16,000 semifinalists who were selected from over 1.3 million juniors in over 21,000 high schools who applied for the 2024 National Merit Scholarship program. Semifinalists represent the top 1% of high school seniors and highest-scoring entrants from each state.

The next steps for semifinalists include completing a scholarship application which will spotlight their academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership experience, employment and honors and awards. Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April.

National Merit Semifinalists