Return to Headlines

Students Selected For All-State

Herricks HS is proud to announce that 21 of our very own student musicians have been selected to participate in this year’s All-State Music Festival, which will be held this December in Rochester, NY. The annual festival, sponsored by the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA), is considered the highest honor a school musician can attain.  To be accepted as an All-State musician, students must receive a perfect score in a formal audition, requiring preparation and performance of a solo, a sight-reading exam and performance of thirteen scales. 

Over 6,000 high school sophomores and juniors audition for All-State each year and only 600 are accepted statewide. 

The Herricks All-State musicians are: Davinder Chopra (Bass I),  Madilyn Silverman (Soprano), Tristan Surajbali (Tenor 2), Anderson Wang (Clarinet), Phillip Joseph (Trombone), Aaron Chu (Violin), Catalin Wong (Violin), Constantine Cheung (Cello), Jocelyn Chiu (Harp/Violin), Samuel Wang (Double Bass), Albert Kuo (Cello), Devon Lee (Cello), Dylan Lee (Double Bass), Ryan Lo (Cello), Kaylee Luo (Violin), Sasha Stern (Viola), Meredith Daly (Flute), Manu Agarwal (Flute), Edwin Chen (Clarinet/Jazz Alto Sax), Abigail Loo (Flute), Sharath Venkatesan (Tuba). Teachers sponsoring these students include Catherine Birke, strings; Louise O’Hanlon, vocalists; and Scott Stickley, band students.

While in Rochester, the students will rehearse and perform with nationally recognized conductors in musical ensembles including a symphonic band, a symphony orchestra and mixed choir. All performances take place at the historic Eastman Theatre in downtown Rochester.

Congratulations to all on this exciting and well-deserved achievement!

Students Selected For All-State