Return to Headlines

Herricks Congratulates Three National Merit Scholarship Winners

Herricks Congratulates Three National Merit Scholarship Winners

Three Herricks High School seniors have been awarded National Merit Scholarships, as announced by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation on June 6. Nicole Garcia, Nicolas Ryan and Brian Yang were selected by sponsor colleges after attaining National Merit Finalist status this winter and Semifinalist standing in the fall as a result of their PSAT scores and academic excellence.

Nicole has received the National Merit Villanova University Scholarship while Nicolas and Brian both earned National Merit Northeastern University Scholarships. These awards can be used at the institutions financing them.

From approximately 1.6 million students who entered the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT, only about 16,000 were identified as finalists. From this pool, approximately 7,500 students across the nation were awarded scholarships.

“Herricks High School is incredibly proud of the accomplishments of these young men and women on receiving this very prestigious accomplishment,” said Interim Principal Dr. Jim Ruck. “Their success is a reflection of their status as true scholars, as evidenced by their consistent outstanding performances in their rigorous and challenging course loads throughout their high school careers. Their teachers have always set incredible standards for them to reach and as individuals, Nicole, Nicholas and Brian have always risen to the challenge.”



National Merit Winners