Return to Headlines

SEPTA Honors Peer Advocates

The Herricks Public Schools’ Special Education Parent Teachers Association (SEPTA) held its annual Peer Advocates Night on March 19. This event recognizes students from each of the district’s school buildings who go above and beyond to make a difference for their peers, including those with special needs.

Coordinated by SEPTA Co-Presidents Judy Olson and Jenny Yang, this year’s event attendees included administrators, faculty and other staff members, parents and students who came out to celebrate the honorees that have demonstrated the admirable qualities of kindness and leadership. Past Co-Presidents Rosemarie Brautigam and Patricia Troiano described the history of the program and the importance of acknowledging students who go out of their way to include others and help build their self-esteem.

Members of the Herricks staff introduced each award recipient and described his/her efforts and positive influences in the lives of special needs students. The 2018 elementary level honorees are Abigail Kim of Center Street School, Andrew Simons of Denton Avenue and Max Cupsa of Searingtown School. From Herricks Middle School, Adelisa Bakovic, Ava Cintron, Brian Ederer, McKayla Handley, Ploy Tipmanee and Emeril Peralta Veloz were recognized. The high school honorees are Nicholas Capelle, Sal Gilberto, Sara Hassan, Justin Janoson, Liana Marino, William Nikas, Michael Scordo, Amanda Vargas and Darren Yang.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Fino Celano provided  closing remarks. “ The values of kindness, empathy and compassion are so important here in Herricks” Dr. Celano said. “That’s what we are celebrating here, tonight.” As the evening concluded, the attendees enjoyed refreshments provided by Panera Bread.


SEPTA Awards Image 1     SEPTA Awards Image 2   SEPTA Awards Image 3  

SEPTA Awards Image 4   SEPTA Awards Image 5   SEPTA Awards Image 6

SEPTA Awards Image 7   SEPTA Awards Image 8   SEPTA Awards Image 9


Photos courtesy of Herricks Public Schools