Return to Headlines

Herricks High School congratulates seven National Merit Semifinalists

Herricks High School congratulates seven National Merit Semifinalists


Herricks High School is proud to announce that seven talented and dedicated seniors were named National Merit Semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Congratulations to Aashna Brahmbhatt, Caitlin Chou, Nicole J. Garcia, Jonathan Lum, Nicolas S. Ryan, Brian Y. Yang and Andrea M. Yeung for earning this outstanding accomplishment. 

These students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists selected nationally from an estimated 1.6 million who entered the academic competition upon taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors. Semifinalists represent the top one percent of United States high school seniors and highest-scoring entrants from each state.

The Herricks semifinalists are high achieving students who are involved in their school and community. Aashna is president of the South Asian Student Association, vice president of the chamber choir and a member of the varsity tennis team. Caitlin is co-president of the Robotics Club, co-president of the Teen Advisory Board at the Shelter Rock Public Library and a first-place winner in the 2016 WAC Lighting - Research Association Invitational Science Fair. Nicole is vice president of the National Honor Society, a Chinese student ambassador and captain of the girls varsity soccer team.

Jonathan has played on the boys varsity tennis team, serves as vice president of the Future Medical Frontiers Club and is involved in National Honor Society. Nicolas serves as a Model Congress board member and participates in Tri-M Music Honor Society as well as the jazz band as a trumpet player. Brian is on the boys spring track team, for which he served as captain last year, as well as the cross country and swim teams. He is co-vice president of the Chess Club and participates in the Literature Club. Andrea is co-president of the Dance Theatre Club and is a member of Dance Repertoire and Crew. She is also an avid Tri-M Honor Society member.

The seven semifinalists are now eligible to fulfill several requirements, including the completion of a detailed application that would potentially advance them to finalist status.


National Merit Semifinalist