Return to Headlines

Herricks HS Announces Five Regeneron Scholars

Herricks High School is proud to congratulate seniors Alan Chen, Bongseok Jung, Nora Koe, Setu Mehta and Natalie Tan for achieving the prominent scholars distinction in the 2017 Regeneron Science Talent Search, formerly known as the Intel Science Talent Search. Approximately 300 students out of approximately 1,750 entrants from throughout the country were recognized at this level.
The scholars will each receive a $2,000 award from the Intel Foundation, along with an additional $2,000 for their school. They are now eligible to move up to finalist level later this month with the prospect of competing for further prizes.
Alan’s project is titled, “Understanding the Mobility of Important Trace Elements During Basalt Weathering with Implications for the Mars 2020 Rover Mission.” Bongseok conducted research for his work on “Investigating the Therapeutic Potential of Simultaneous COX2 and Bcl-2 Inhibition: Using Salicin and ABT-199 to Propose a Safe, Selective, and Potent Treatment Approach for Colorectal Cancer.” Nora focused on “Shorter Shares for Formula Secret Sharing.” Setu’s project is titled, “IRF5 Deficiency Leads to Increased Proliferation in Luminal Epithelial Cells, Contributing to Mammary Tumorigenesis.” Natalie researched “The Effect of Titanium Dioxide Nanoparticle Exposure on Undifferentiated and Differentiated U937 Cell Susceptibility to Staphylococcus aureus infection and Dextran Bacterial Antiadhesive Properties in Adipose-derived Stromal Cells.” All five students participate in the Herricks High School Honors Science Research program under the guidance of teacher Renée Barcia.
The Regeneron Science Talent Search is a program of the Society for Science and the Public. According to the organization’s website, it is considered to be the nation’s most prestigious science research competition for high school seniors, and serves as the national stage for the country's best and brightest young scientists to present original research to nationally recognized professional scientists.

Photos courtesy of the Herricks School District

From left: Alan Chen, Natalie Tan, Nora Koe, Setu Mehta, Bongseok Jung.